Misc.

Happy Bookish Haulidays

Merry Christmas / Happy Holidays to my glorious readers! I’m currently listening to In the Heights FETUS LIN-MANUEL, AM I RIGHT? and I’m so filled with festive cheer that I need to publish something bookish and holiday-y right now or I’ll probably faint.

Despite the beautiful light displays, endless red and green Bullet Journal pages, + photos on my Insta feed, I still needed to release my holiday aggression someplace else. My blog seemed like the ideal place. Okay, I’ve known for a while that I wanted to do a Christmas-themed bookish blog post, but I wasn’t sure what the content would be, exactly. So after some patient, thoughtful pondering as in, today, Christmas Eve  I decided to make some lists: Top 10 Books I Would Give as Gifts (AKA a Book Blogger’s Personal Gift Guide to Readers and Non-Readers Alike) and my favorite holiday reads to get you into the spirit of the season.

Top 10 Books I Would Give as Gifts (In No Particular Order)

Being an avid book reader and blogger like myself, you’d believe that all I purchase people for Christmas is books. And although that is false, I wouldn’t mind aiding you lovely readers in buying some fantastic, wholesome reads to strike your loved ones in the feels. While these books will be partly to mostly Young Adult—and range from fantasy, science fiction, contemporary, + mystery for every reader (and non-reader) in your life—if you’re still not satisfied, feel free to leave in the comments any recommendations you have from any and every genre. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Note: While I will suggest age and reading skill for these novels, every person is different and may reach beyond my recommendations. Nor will I be generalizing these books by gender of any sort. I’m simply giving a glimpse into the concept of the novel + what it contains. Your choice to purchase a novel should be based solely on the person’s interests instead of age, gender, or any other generalizations.

NOW LET’S BEGIN.

1. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

This epic fantasy is set in a distant future in Scion London (who doesn’t love London?), and the protagonist Paige Mahoney is simply badass in every way possible. The books may be large and intimidating and the fact it’s a 7-book series  you will need to set aside hours a day just to read this baby properly. Would recommend for any readers of Cassandra Clare.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME. (Well, contemporary-wise.) This book practically introduced me to Rowell through her witty banter, hella real characters, & miraculous storytelling that always had me turning the page. The story delves into strong examples of social anxiety and family, so I would recommend for anyone looking for a novel that is set in the real world but want a little substance to their story.

3. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

OKAY, I KNOW THIS IS CLICHE, BUT trust me, some people haven’t read it yet! I live with an entire family who hasn’t read a word of the wizarding world books or the movies. Yes, THE MOVIES! While this series is considered a universal story, many people will scoff if you show them a “kid’s book” so I’d recommend to maybe a young reader or teen who needs a little push into the magical world of reading.

4. Legend by Marie Lu

OH. MY. GOD. Legend is such a fantastic boost into the world of YA dystopia. You will have your reader hooked on the woven storyline + unmistakably addictive characters like June and Day. Now, if they like Legend, you’ll definitely have to buy them The Young Elites next. *wink*

5. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella 

I read this book in August 2015, and it just had all the perks of a perfect novel: an entertaining contemporary storyline, a rich + meaningful message, and adorable characters you can’t help but laugh. Finding Audrey manages to delve into the tangled world of anxiety and other insecurities, but avoids intense, heavyhearted mental illness. Would recommend for readers of Rainbow Rowell or Kasie West, and overall for young teen readers.

6. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

WOW. I’m not kidding when I boast that Illuminae “made me love science-fiction again.” The reason this novel is set apart from the rest of space novels is the fact it’s composed entirely of emails, files, images, + other various text. Again, the size of Illumine will have any average reader reeling, but once you turn the first page you’ll find yourself halfway through before the night is over. Would recommend for fans of The Lunar Chronicles or anything relatively set in space.

7. The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Don’t even get me started on this book. While I intend on saving my muddled thoughts for a future review which is already two months in the making  I just want to say: diverse characters, a single day set in New York City, several woven perspectives that tie together into a single storyline, + the romance of a lifetime—you’re actually missing out if you don’t pick up this book. Would recommend for readers who like contemporary with substance, but can tackle a mostly romantic theme w/ subplots.

8. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This novel contains all the perfect ingredients for an epic badass heist story. The six different perspectives (actually there might be more, but there’s six main characters, anyway) which always spices up the storyline in one way or another. This duology is a companion series to the Grisha trilogy, which I would also recommend reading as well, but if you had to pick just one for a gift I would suggest choosing Six of Crows over Grisha—according to popular review. Would recommend for fans of Marie Lu, Sarah J. Maas, + V.E. Schwab or for non-readers, fans of Games of Thrones I’m stretching here, okay? or Peaky Blinders Whaaaat? It’s a good show!

9. Furthermore by Taherah Mafi

Although Mafi is far more prominent for her books, Shatter Me trilogy, I’m going to have to pass the torch to Furthermore. Furthermore has colorful writing, fascinating characters (including the underdog protagonist, & an incredible journey between two young adventurers. The story is announced middle grade, so I would recommend for either young readers or an open-minded YA reader.

10. The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

After all these heavy, intense science fiction books, how could I forget the signature fluffy contemporary story that warms the heart of every romance reader? As of this moment my favorite Kasie West novel, the story delves into romance, second chances, family, discovering yourself, & all the good things. Would recommend for a young teen reader (all West novels contain little to no vulgarity or sexual content) or any reader who can handle a primarily romantic-based plot.

I hope you guys enjoyed my thoughts! Have you bought a book for a loved one before? Were they a reader or non-reader, and how did you decide what to purchase? Leave your comments below!


YA Holiday Books to Get You Into the Spirit

1. My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins (and a few others)

An entire novel of Christmas and other festive anthologies to perk your holiday spirit written by an array of popular YA authors.

2. Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

While Harry Potter is set over the course of an entire year, the Christmases Harry spent at Hogwarts are written so incredibly cozy, reading by the fire and sipping pumpkin juice + butterbeer beneath the glowing mess hall candles. . .You’ll be wishing for the holiday every time you read these scenes.

3. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cook + David Levithan

This book contains two protagonists who anonymously swap a notebook through the holiday season in New York City, crossing off tasks & dares along the way, wondering when the time will come for these two to finally meet.

4. Let it Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle, & Maureen Johnson

Three intertwining stories containing rich characters and unfortunate situations really wrap the whole story together puns, anyone? and show how to embrace the good while enduring the bad.

5. What Light by Jay Asher

I’ll be honest: I haven’t read this book. But I’m a reader of Jay Asher and the story is apparently very relevant to the holiday season so I thought it would be a nice addition to this list. . .Just kidding, I ran out of books, but perhaps I’ll pick this book up soon enough, right? This means more books should be written during the holidays, WHY IS THIS NOT A THING???


What do love most about the holidays? I can’t wait to eat good food, unwrap some epic presents, + chat all about it on Twitter w/ my blogger buds 🙂 Below are some pics I took during this holiday season!

So what’s next, you ask? In return for such incredible readers, I’ll be posting as much as possible while I’m on winter break! Some possible posts coming your way includes: The Sun is Also a Star review, December Fairyloot Unboxing, My Reading Wrap Up of 2016 + 2017 Bookish Resolutions, Caraval review, & who even knows really. I have been slacking like crazy and I hope you’ll enjoy what’s to come!


Did you enjoy my post? Leave your thoughts below! I’m wishing everyone a happy holiday and a wonderful new year!

xoxo,

Jill

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Happy Bookish Haulidays

  1. of course u loved your post is that even a question to ask 💃🏻❤️
    even though i don’t celebrate christmas 🎄 i love all the holiday cheer and all the bookish trees and green and red hearts 💚❤️ also, shame on me 🙈 but i have never read any christmas themes book (i mean, i read harry potter but still), so i MIGHT read LET IT SNOW after i finish my current read.
    also, i agree with you on kasie west books. i only read one of her novels (P.S. I LIKE YOU), and i loved it so so much oh my 💫
    ANYWAYS, i hope you have a great time in your holidays! so excited to see more posts from you! (we study in my country during these times so i’ll go cry in the corner 😭)

    Like

  2. ahh this post is amazing, it has so many amazing books here! my favorite parts about the holiday season is like seeing christmas tree + ornaments + lights everywhere. i just love how bright and festive everything is ❤ i really need to get to dash and lily, it's been years and i still haven't read it omg 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s