Unboxings + Promotions

Bookish Boxes #2 — Fairyloot Unboxing

Hii readers! The time has come once again to reveal the beautiful goodies buried within my second Fairyloot box!

In case you didn’t see my very first Fairyloot unboxing for the November ‘Royals & Rogues’ box, you can click here if you’re interested in seeing my thoughts on it before diving into this month.

If you hadn’t heard of Fairyloot, it is a subscription bookish box company dedicated to revealing new releases in the YA community along with a matching theme + several goodies. Even better, Fairyloot isn’t the only subscription box to collaborate with other bookish companies to deliver only the best to their fans!

The theme for December was “Sci-Fi Adventure” and I was pumped since science-fiction is practically my favorite book genre! I’ve been anticipating all month for this box! If you couldn’t guess, the December box is perfect for fans of Red Rising & the Lunar Chronicles. Even though I haven’t red Red Rising, I saw Lunar Chronicles and was instantly excited to tear open this box ASAP!

Items Included in the December Sci-Fi Adventure Box:

  • Star Wars Funko: Princess Leia by Funko
  • Kryptonite bath powder by Geeky Clean
  • Galaxy Socks – made exclusively for Fairyloot
  • The Starbound Trilogy bookmark by Lexy Olivia
  • Lunar Chronicles boys print + Red Rising buttons by Taratjah
  • Way Down Dark sampler by James P. Smythe
  • Red Rising + The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet art prints
  • Flashfall copy, signed plate, + letter by Jenny Moyer
  • An adorable Christmas card from the two founders ❤
  • And lots of confetti

So, what are you waiting for? Let’s dive right in!

SO, I’ll be honest: I looove this box but I might prefer the items in the November box just a teensy bit more. HEY, it was the mug! Can’t blame a caffeine addict!

The grand prize, you could say, for this box was the Star Wars funko, so the whole hype surrounding this feature of the box (although it’s really awesome Funko collaborated with Fairyloot!) didn’t quite catch my fancy like I’d hoped. Instead I’ll be giving my Princess Leia figurine to my best friend, a huge Star Wars fan, as a consolation gift due to recent news.

I’ve never been much into the hype of bath bombs, either, but the bath powder looks promising, especially since it smells like cupcakes! Yummy. I’ll be sure to use the powder on a cold winter day in January with a cozy book.

I was surprised to see Galaxy socks! And made exclusively for Fairyloot, too! You know how bookstagrammers are crazy about their ‘Sock Sundays’ so I’m uber excited to plan future Doctor Who / sci-fi pics with my galaxy socks and galaxy leggings yes, I do in fact own a pair of galaxy leggings.

I ADORE the Lexy Olivia bookmark with a quote from The Starbound Trilogy! The lettering is so incredibly gorgeous and it’s all I could’ve asked for! I  was afraid this “sci-fi theme” would miss one of my favorite YA space trilogies ever, but fear not, I suppose. I intend to use this bookmark in every book and photograph it as much as humanly possible.

The Lunar Chronicles boys print includes some of my favorites from the series AH THORNE!! and has gorgeous art by Taratjah. Not to mention she also collaborated with the Red Rising buttons. While I haven’t picked up RR (yet?) I really like the buttons and added them to my ultimate nerdy bag with a book on the front that I take to conventions. They’ll do fine on my nerdy bag where they belong 🙂

In addition, I adore the lettering / calligraphy art prints even more! These prints have stunning colors and beautiful lettering that I can’t take my eyes off of ❤ They made a wonderful addition to this box.

Saved perhaps the best for last, the bookish reveal of December’s box is Flashfall by Jenny Moyer! Flashfall is the first in a new debut YA science fiction series, and looks amazing! I’m actually really pumped to pick it up sometime in the future. The synopsis is below to save you the time from searching it on Goodreads, but the link is here.

Orion is a Subpar, expected to mine the tunnels of Outpost Five, near the deadly flash curtain. For generations, her people have chased cirium—the only element that can shield humanity from the curtain’s radioactive particles. She and her caving partner, Dram work the most treacherous tunnel, fighting past flash bats and tunnel gulls, in hopes of mining enough cirium to earn their way into the protected city.

But when newcomers arrive at Outpost Five, Orion uncovers disturbing revelations that make her question everything she thought she knew about life on both sides of the cirium shield. As conditions at the outpost grow increasingly dangerous, it’s up to Orion to forge a way past the flashfall, beyond all boundaries, beyond the world as she knows it.

AH, I  CAN’T WAIT!

While my thoughts on the products inside this box are somewhat. . .subordinate to last month, I’ll admit, compared to November’s book, Nemesis, I’m anticipating Flashfall just a little bit more.

January Box Announcement:

The theme for January is ‘Mystery & Mischief’ featuring a stunning UK edition of a highly anticipated debut author perfect for fans of The Night Circus, Sherlock Holmes, + Alice in Wonderland! As for that, the rest is up in the air in terms of items included (6 items total, apparently) beside a special product featured by Meraki Candles. AND I AM ECSTATIC, I’ve been hoping Fairyloot would feature at least a candle of some sort! I’ve been waiting for this!

In addition, each box will include a special item from Harry Potter or Games of Thrones – which makes the surprise even more tantalizing I don’t like GoT please give me Harry Potter pleaseeee.  That being said I’d be happy with anything Fairyloot gave me.

While I won’t give away any possible spoilers, I have a feeling what book in particular January’s box will include, but I won’t say a thing!

The January box is unfortunately sold out by now, but can be bought for single purchase on January 1st, so keep an eye out!

If you didn’t know, I’m a rep for Fairyloot! I have a fancy code too! So if you’re interested in purchasing a subscription to Fairyloot, feel free to use my code BOOKNERD to receive 5% off your 3 or 6 month purchase!

I must admit I’m rather sentimental, since January will be my last Fairyloot box as a rep. As glad as I am to pass my place over to another deserving bookstagram, I’ll be sad to go. That’s all I can say for now, since I still have a whole month until I say my goodbyes! There is still time!


Thank you for reading my unboxing! Have your purchased a subscription box before? Do you wish in the future to buy one or two? Tell me below!

xoxo,

Jill

Advertisements

One thought on “Bookish Boxes #2 — Fairyloot Unboxing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s