Misc.

NaNoWriMo 2017 — Week 1

Hey readers! I hope you’re doing well today 🙂 I’m feeling pretty good because it’s NaNoWriMo season!!

If you don’t know, NaNoWriMo is an annual challenge every November, where writers across the world try to write 50,000 words in a month. It’s all about making your book a priority, no matter what kind of life you lead. I am a full time high school student, and after taking a break from NaNo in 2016, I’m back and ready to roll.

As of November 10th, I have currently 10,628 words. I have yet to write tonight, and the expected word count is probably around 16, so you can see I’m behind. But this weekend ahead I plan on writing another 10k words. (That might be a stretch, but 20k words total would be nice.)

Luckily, I beat a writing slump at the beginning of the week. It made sense, since I haven’t written this novel since July, and it was weird at first falling back into the feel of writing. But now it’s great, and I wrote 3.6k words in one night a few days ago. That beat my slump and now I can’t stop writing ❤

If you’re participating in NaNo, give a cheers to week one! (Or week two, if you didn’t start late, like I did.) You did it!

Each week I’ll be including a surprise. First I’m going to start off with some basic writing tips from me.

Note: I am no New York Times bestselling author. But I have been writing for 10 years only the last 2 years have been any good, though. 

1. The dreaded writer’s block. If you’re not feeling passionate about writing, there’s ways to get around it. For me, I try to re-imagine the scene I’m stuck on. If it’s a really bad slump, I recommend writing another scene (possibly one with conflict or tension, to get your mind running) and come back to the part when you’ve distanced yourself for a few hours/days.

2. How to turn ideas into books. All of my stories begin with a single idea, sentence, or concept. It’s only commitment that turns those on-a-whim ideas into books. Spend some time breaking down the setting, possible plot events, characters, and the genre its set in. Some ideas will be more substantial than others. Some ideas might come to mind that resembles your favorite book (don’t write that one—unless it’s fanfiction.)

3. Plotting is better than pantsing. Pantsing is a term used to writing, frankly, at the seat of one’s pants. To write with no set plan. This may work for some people, but before I started intricately plotting my novels, my novels fell through and had no determined beginning, middle, or end. If you want to be committed, knowing your plot through and through will help you stay motivated to see your characters meet their ends.

4. Know what you want from writing. That’s vague, I know. What I mean is, if all you’re focused on while writing is “when will this be published? when will I finish this?” your priorities might not be in the right place. When I sit down to write my novels, it rarely crosses my mind that publishing is what matters. It’s great to be optimistic, especially if writing is your career, but I’d like to think that we all write because we have the physical need to get our stories out of our heads and into words.

tenor


Thanks for reading! Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Are you a NaNo veteran? Tell me below!

xoxo,

Jill

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2017 — Week 1

  1. I’m doing NaNoWriMo for the first time. It’s actually integrated into a seminar for creative writing at my university! What always helps me when I am stuck is talking to someone about my story. That person usually suggests something that I ignore most of the time because it doesn’t fit into my story, but from their ideas, I get new ones. 😀 I think a writing buddy or just someone you can talk to is really helpful. But it should be someone who will tell you that what you wrote doesn’t make any sense and criticizes your story if necessary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

